LOCAL FLAVOUR: The Farmer

KS Brooks
4 min readFeb 23, 2020
Levi at the NE Washington Fair

When I arrived at Seitters Farms, a side-by-side sped past me and slid sideways to a stop on the icy and muddy driveway as if guided by the skill of a professional dirt track racer. When I put my truck in park, I looked over to see Levi Seitters behind the wheel of the UTV, a bright, toothy grin from ear-to-ear.

“That was pretty awesome,” I said.

“She said I should beat you here,” Levi spouted, referencing his sister, who was seated next to him.

While this might not seem like a big deal to you, the skill with which Levi maneuvered the UTV was impressive if you consider the fact that he’s only nine-years old.

Levi showed up on my “Local Flavor” radar when his grandmother recounted a story about someone asking him if he wanted to be a farmer when he grew up. “I’m already a farmer!” Levi had yelled angrily in response. When I mentioned this to him, he recalled it and straightened up proudly. This, indeed, is serious business.

According to Levi, he’s been farming for five years. His mother, Heidi Lampert-Seitters, didn’t disagree.

Levi took me to see the dairy cows and quickly identified all four breeds for me: Holstein, red Holstein, Jersey, and Guernsey. As we went on the tour of the farm, it was apparent he knew where every switch was as well as what they all did. He also…

--

--

KS Brooks

Award-winning novelist and photographer. Fearless leader of IndiesUnlimited. Wilderness hermit, intrepid road warrior. Gluten-free guru. Slightly opinionated.